The 2016 AFR Higher Education Awards

08 Nov 2016

UniSuper proudly presents the 2016 AFR Higher Education Awards

For the second year, UniSuper is proud to present the annual Australian Financial Review Higher Education Awards, an initiative to highlight, to a national audience, the tremendous contribution that the higher education sector makes to Australian economic prosperity.

The awards recognise the achievements of universities, higher education providers and individuals across a range of areas which demonstrate excellence in the sector. We are excited to see so many of our university partners among the finalists!

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner on November 16 during the Financial Review Higher Education Summit in Melbourne.

UniSuper is also the proud sponsor of the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises an individual with more than 25 years’ experience in higher education who has made an outstanding contribution to the sector. Distinguished educator, policy adviser and administrator Professor Denise Bradley has been unanimously selected by judges as the winner of the achievement and will be presented the award by UniSuper chairman Chris Cuffe at the gala dinner next week.

As the dedicated superfund for the higher education and research sector, UniSuper is proud to sponsor the 2016 awards. We are committed to supporting events that are important to our members, particularly those that publicly recognise the significant contribution of our members and university partners.

AFR Higher Education Awards – 2016 Finalists

Community Engagement Award

  • Macquarie University - National Indigenous Science Education Program (NISEP)
  • Queensland University of Technology – National Exceptional Teaching for Disadvantaged Schools (NETDS) program
  • UNSW Australia - Kingsford Legal Centre & Kooloora Community Centre Partnership
  • UTS - UTS Shopfront Community Program

Emerging Leader Award sponsored by Perrett Laver

  • University of Melbourne – Dr Charles Day
  • University of Newcastle – Associate Professor Kathleen Butler
  • UNSW Australia – Professor Emma Johnston FRSN
  • University of Sydney – James Alexander

Employability Award sponsored by Pearson

  • Bond University – – Free, open, international digital repository
  • Marcus Oldham College – The integration of Graduate Attributes with work placement sequences to deliver high levels of work readiness and employability.
  • University of Queensland - UQ Student Employability Team: getting students SET for their future.
  • University of Sydney - Leadership Development Program at the Faculty of Health Sciences

Equity & Opportunity Award sponsored by YourTutor

  • Charles Sturt University – Outreach Team
  • Macquarie University – LEAP - Macquarie Mentoring (Refugee Mentoring)
  • University of Sydney – A multi-layered approach to support young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians considering higher education
  • Western Sydney University – Fast Forward

Facilities Innovation Award

  • Deakin University – Deakin Smart Campus
  • Flinders University – New Plaza & Student Hub
  • University of Adelaide – UniSpace development
  • University of Wollongong – Early Start Facility

Industry Engagement Award sponsored by Technology One

  • Griffith University – Fruition®: a world-first biological trap for managing female pest fruit flies in horticultural cropsy
  • Monash University – Monash Industry Team Initiative - MITI
  • University of South Australia – ANZ Business Growth Program
  • University of Sydney – Australian Centre for Field Robotics

International Education Award sponsored by Raw Talent

  • Monash University – The Monash Warwick Alliance: Harnessing joint capabilities to drive innovation and opportunity
  • University of Newcastle – The Singapore Teaching Certificate initiative
  • UNSW Australia – UNSW Professional Development Program (International Students)
  • UTS – Beyond UTS International Leadership Development Program (UTS:BUiLD)

Learning Experience Award

  • Queensland University of Technology – STIMulate: support-for-learning in maths, science and IT
  • UTS – Higher Education Language and Presentation Support (HELPS)
  • University of Western Australia – Indigenous Studies Essentials (ISE)
  • Western Sydney University – The Academy

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by UniSuper

The Australian Financial Review announced on Monday 31 October Denise Bradley as the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by UniSuper.

In unanimously selecting Professor Bradley for the Lifetime Achievement Award, the judges commented: "In a career spanning more than four decades Denise Bradley has exerted tremendous influence on Australian higher education policy and practice as a teacher, a policy adviser, an administrator and a university leader.

"Professor Bradley stood out as a candidate for the Lifetime Achievement Award because of the breadth, depth and weight of her contributions. Notably, her leadership of the 2008 Review of Australian Higher Education led to educational opportunities for tens of thousands of Australians who otherwise would not have had the chance to attend university."