Top achievers announced

31 Jul 2017

UniSuper proudly presents the 2017 AFR Higher Education Awards.

For the third consecutive year, UniSuper is the presenting partner of the annual Australian Financial Review Higher Education Awards which highlight the tremendous contribution the higher education sector makes to Australian economic prosperity.

The awards recognise the achievements of universities, higher education providers and individuals across a range of areas which demonstrate excellence in the sector. We are excited to see so many of our university partners among the finalists.

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner on 29 August forming part of the Australian Financial Review Higher Education Summit in Sydney.

UniSuper is also the proud sponsor of the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises an individual with more than 25 years’ experience in higher education who has made an outstanding contribution to the sector. The winner will be announced on Monday 14 August.

As the dedicated superfund for the higher education and research sector, UniSuper is proud to support the 2017 awards. We are committed to supporting events that are important to our members, particularly those that publicly recognise the significant contribution of our members and university partners.

AFR Higher Education Awards – 2017 Finalists

Community Engagement Award

  • University of Melbourne – Teddy Bear Hospital
  • Central Queensland University – Choices, an applied theatre project
  • Macquarie University – National Indigenous Science Education Program
  • University of Sydney – Service Learning and Indigenous Communities

Education Technology Award

  • UNSW and University of Queensland – BEST Network’s Slice
  • University of Melbourne – My eQuals
  • Bond University – Augmented Reality
  • Swinburne University – Quitch

Emerging Leader Award sponsored by Perrett Laver

  • UNSW – Angela Moles
  • Deakin University – Emma Kowal
  • University of Sydney – David Reilly

Employability Award sponsored by Pearson

  • Deakin University – Graduate Employability Program
  • Macquarie University – Professional and Community Engagement
  • ANU – College of Business and Economics Internship Program

Equity and Opportunity Award

  • La Trobe University and Federation University Australia – Higher Education for Care Leavers Strategy
  • University of Wollongong – Outreach and Pathways Team
  • University of Queensland – Critical Thinking Project
  • University of Newcastle – Building Clarity Through Simplicity
  • St Catherine’s College, University of WA – Dandjoo Darbalung

Industry Engagement Award sponsored by Technology One

  • University of Queensland – Boeing Brisbane Technology Centre
  • Federation University Australia – Partners in Learning
  • University of Adelaide – Future of Photonics Innovation
  • Monash University – Monash Industry Team Initiative
  • University of Canberra-Ducere Global Business School – Master of Business Administration

International Education Award sponsored by Top Education Institute

  • Monash University – IITB-Monash Research Academy
  • Deakin University – Deakin India Research Initiative
  • University of Adelaide – China Career Ready Plus
  • University of Notre Dame – Doors of Opportunity

Learning Experience Award

  • University of Notre Dame – Beyond Memorising
  • La Trobe University – Digital Identity: Making Your Mark!
  • Western Sydney University – PASS (Peer Assisted Study Sessions)
  • UTS – Hatchery

Other categories

Two other award categories are still to be announced. The Lifetime Achievement award will be announced on 14 August and the winner of the Facilities Innovation Award will be announced on 29 August.