UniSuper proudly presents the 2019 AFR Higher Education Awards

12 Aug 2019

UniSuper is proud to present the annual Australian Financial Review Higher Education Awards for the fifth year in a row. The event celebrates the tremendous contribution the higher education sector makes to Australian economic prosperity.

The awards recognise the achievements of universities, higher education providers and individuals across a range of areas which demonstrate excellence in the sector. We are excited to see so many of our university partners among the finalists!

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner on Tuesday 27 August during the Financial Review Higher Education Summit in Brisbane.

UniSuper is also the proud sponsor of the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises an individual with more than 25 years’ experience in higher education who has made an outstanding contribution to the sector.

As the dedicated super fund for the higher education and research sector, UniSuper is committed to supporting events that are important to our members, particularly those that publicly recognise and celebrate the significant contribution of our members and university partners.

Congratulations to the 2019 finalists:

Community Engagement Award:

  • Australian National University – Guinness World Record Stargazing attempt
  • La Trobe University – Himilo Community Connect Partnership
  • University of Melbourne – The Well-Being Profiler
  • University of New England – UNE Oorala Aboriginal Centre

Education Technology Award:

  • Deakin University – RIOT Lab Enabling Effective Cloud and Located Learning
  • Murdoch University – Virtual Preparation for Future Teachers
  • The University of Newcastle – Virtual Anaesthesia
  • University of Adelaide – CSER Digital Technologies Education Program

Emerging Leader Award:

  • Bond University – Dr Christian Moro
  • Deakin University – Professor Emma Kowal
  • The University of Newcastle – Associate Professor Nikola Bowden
  • University of Adelaide – Professor Carolin Plewa

Employability Award:

  • Charles Darwin University – CDU IT CODE FAIR
  • La Trobe University – The Agency
  • Swinburne University of Technology – Emerging Leader
  • The University of Sydney – Job Smart

Equity & Opportunity Award:

  • Curtin University – Curtin AHEAD Program
  • Macquarie University – LEAP UP
  • Swinburne University of Technology – Swinburne AccessAbility Careers Hub for Students with Disability (SwD)
  • The University of Adelaide – Karnkanthi Indigenous Education Program

Facilities Innovation Award:

  • Bond University – The conversion of physiology and anatomy laboratories into digital learning facilities
  • Monash University – Gillies Hall
  • QUT – The Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct
  • Victoria University – The HIVE – creating a buzz about learning design

Industry Engagement Award:

  • Deakin University – HSBC Blue Carbon citizen science program
  • Southern Cross University – Farming Together
  • The University of Newcastle – Integrated Innovation Network (I2N)
  • The University of Sydney – Transforming air travel health and wellbeing

International Education Award:

  • Bond University – Bond University Kirakira Program
  • Deakin University – DIRI
  • Monash University – English Connect
  • University of Technology Sydney – UTS SILC

Learning Experience Award:

  • Griffith University – Commonwealth Games WIL
  • The University of Queensland – UQ Physiotherapy Standardised Patients Program
  • University of New England – Program of study – Graduate degree program
  • UNSW Sydney – SECedu